Games Gazette Logo
30 October 2014
Four new hunting zones | Level cap increased from 60 to 65
Gameforge and developers Bluehole have announced “Fate of Arun”, an expansion to the role-playing game TERA: Rising, to be released in December 2014. The update increases the level cap for all characters to level 65. It will also allow access to the continent of Northern Arun, which is divided into four hunting zones.

A teaser trailer offering a flavour of what Fate of Arun has to offer can be found here

Bigger, stronger, better
The increase in the maximum level will introduce 15 new skills to the game, with each class able to learn up to three additional abilities. Furthermore, certain present mechanics and abilities will be partially overhauled or receive additional effects. Lancers using the “Adrenaline Rush II” skill, for instance, will in future benefit not only from increased attack speed, but also from halved cooldown times on their melee moves as well as additional aggro from targeted opponents.

The four new hunting zones – Mjusu Kraal, Spring Valley, Ex Prima and Arx Umbra – are all to be found on a previously undiscovered continent. They offer missions and challenges leading to the new maximum level and which continue the story of Arborea.

Mjusu Kraal (from level 60)
The adventurer’s journey into Northern Arun begins in the thick jungles of Mjusu Kraal. Characters of level 60 and above will encounter new enemies, old conflicts and uncover clues about the preparations for a mighty war that has the potential to change the face of Arborea. This ominous danger is the common thread running through the background story.

Spring Valley (from level 61)
Stretching between the mountains above the jungle is Spring Valley. The second stop in Fate of Arun’s journey leads the hero to the town of Highwatch, a settlement isolated from the outside world which is threatened by extinction from the Archdevas. Players find themselves intervening in the intensifying conflict over two levels, becoming ever deeper embroiled in the story of the looming war.

Ex Prima (from level 63)
The third hunting zone merges seamlessly into the events in Spring Valley, with the expansion’s storyline escalating amongst the overgrown ruins. Adventurers of level 63 and above need to call on the aid of old allies to have a chance of keeping the peace.

Arx Umbra (from level 64)
The story’s climax nears with the player’s arrival in Arx Umbra. Despite all efforts, the smouldering conflict between Arborea’s peoples intensifies into a war, and it is here that the hostile camps begin to make preparations for the impending battle. Up to reaching the level cap there are missions here that are deftly tied into the campaign against the Archdevan threat.

About TERA: Rising
TERA is a Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG) set in a graphically stunning fantasy universe. TERA’s uniqueness revolves around its groundbreaking True Action Combat. This system allows the players to truly master their characters and to aim with no automatic targeting system, thus pushing the boundaries of the MMO genre. Players and press both warmly received TERA, praising its state of the art visuals and notable innovations such as its political system. TERA: Rising has been playable free of charge since February 2013 and is available for download at
© Chris Baylis 2011-2015